Domestic Abuse



Domestic abuse is unacceptable, and addressing the issue is a priority for any organisation.

Domestic abuse takes many forms, and it’s important that staff recognise the signs and symptoms and are able to offer support and guidance to victims.

Domestic abuse is defined as, but is not limited to, the following:

  • Physical or sexual abuse
  • Coercive control
  • Psychological and/or emotional abuse
  • Financial or economic abuse
  • Stalking and harassment
  • Online or digital abuse

Our courses can be delivered to a diverse range of agencies, from basic awareness to more advanced levels. The courses are all delivered by trainers with operational experience in this subject matter.

All RSL courses are bespoke to the specific needs of the client and comply with National Occupational Standards (NOS).

Learning Objectives

At the end of the course the student will be able to:

  • Understand the categories and types of abuse
  • Recognise the signs and symptoms of abuse
  • Explain the types of civil and criminal options available
  • Describe risk assessment and safeguarding
  • Explain the role of the MARAC in supporting victims


Course Length

  • 2-3 days


Featured Modules

  • Cycle of change and the Biderman Cycle
  • The role of the MARAC and MAPPA
  • Mental health and substance abuse and its effects on domestic abuse
  • Coercive control
  • Civil and criminal options
  • Risk assessment and safeguarding
  • Honour-based abuse and forced marriage
  • Serious case reviews


Course Suitability

Courses are suitable for any agency or organisation that may come across victims of domestic abuse.

Please note, that this course is not for individuals. We only deliver this course to organisations with 5 or more delegates.

Course Enquiry